National Institutes of Natural Sciences : NINS

National Institutes of Natural Sciences : NINS


スクリーンショット 2024-01-25 13.23.25.png

 ​The National Institutes of Natural Sciences(NINS) consists of five inter-university research institutes: the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan (NAOJ), the National Institute for Fusion Sciences (NIFS), the National Institute for Basic Biology (NIBB), the National Institute for Physiological Sciences (NIPS), and the Institute for Molecular Science (IMS). As a global research center in the field of natural science promoting international and advanced research, we provide joint research and collaborative research for universities and other researchers all over the country. The result of our collaborative research contributes to strengthening Japanese research capabilities.​ ​

Management of Institutes by a Community of Researchers

Each Institute constituting NINS conducts the management supported by the community by being a member representing each researcher community in universities, etc. to the advisory committee, joint research committee, faculty personnel committee, and other committees.

スクリーンショット 2024-01-25 13.24.57.png

In addition, all members of the conference for selecting the President of NINS consist of external committee members. Approximately half of the Management Council and Education Research Council consists of external committee members.